The Perfect Chocolate Chip Cookie

Chocolate Chip Cookies were the first thing I ever baked.  I actually don’t remember when I couldn’t make chocolate chip cookies.  My mom must have given me a spatula and a bag of chocolate chips at 6 years old.  But for the past 20 years my cookies have been so far from perfect that now I can’t remember the last time I made them.  Seriously, I have never made a good batch of cookies.  I made better cheesecakes at 15 then I could make cookies!

But this year I have decided to start perfecting some specific baking and cooking skills (I also finally figured out how to bake a baked potato like a steak restaurant).  I wanted to find the perfect chocolate chip cookie recipe and finally master what should be a simple recipe.  Did you know that the internet really does most of the work for you??  I searched a number of blogs and learned from about 157 comments.  And…I truly think I have found the perfect cookie.  I welcome any submissions of different recipes but this cookie is crispy on the outside and chewy in the middle.  Exactly like a bakery cookie that I seem to constantly crave!  The recipe is from the Brown Eyed Baker blog (which has a lot of amazing recipes) and I’ve copied the recipe below with a couple of my additions.  You do need to follow the instructions closely and tell me what you think.

p.s. I don’t weigh my ingredients as the measurements seem to be fairly accurate and of course I don’t have a kitchen scale.  I also think it’s important to make the cookies 1/4 cup in size.  They stay chewy and ‘look’ like a bakery cookie.


Thick and Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies

(Source: Baking Illustrated, page 434)

Makes about 18 large cookies.

These oversized cookies are chewy and thick, like many of the chocolate chip cookies sold in gourmet shops and cookie stores. They rely on melted butter and an extra egg yolk to keep their texture soft. These cookies are best served warm from the oven but will retain their texture even when cooled. To ensure the proper texture, cool the cookies on the baking sheet. Oversized baking sheets allow you to get all the dough into the oven at one time. If you’re using smaller baking sheets, put fewer cookies on each sheet and bake them in batches.

2 cups plus 2 tablespoons (10 5/8 ounces) unbleached all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
12 tablespoons (1 1/2 sticks) unsalted butter, melted and cooled until warm  (very important step!)
1 cup packed (7 ounces) light or dark brown sugar
1/2 cup (3 1/2 ounces) granulated sugar
1 large egg plus 1 egg yolk (make sure your eggs are room temperature)
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1-1 1/2 cups semisweet chocolate chips

I make all the cookie balls and freeze them before I bake.  I’m convinced this is a crucial step in the process!  You still bake at the same temperature for about 20 minutes.  It’s also really nice to have them frozen so you can put a couple in the oven instead of the whole batch.

1. Adjust the oven racks to the upper- and lower-middle positions and heat the oven to 325 degrees. Line 2 large baking sheets with parchment paper or spray them with nonstick cooking spray.

2. Whisk the flour, baking soda, and salt together in a medium bowl; set aside.

3. Either by hand or with an electric mixer, mix the butter and sugars until thoroughly blended. Beat in the egg, yolk, and vanilla until combined. Add the dry ingredients and beat at low speed just until combined. Stir in the chips to taste.

4. Roll a scant 1/4 cup of the dough into a ball. Hold the dough ball with the fingertips of both hands and pull into 2 equal halves. Rotate the halves 90 degrees and, with jagged surfaces facing up, join the halves together at their base, again forming a single ball, being careful not to smooth the dough’s uneven surface. Place the formed dough balls on the prepared baking sheets, jagged surface up, spacing them 2 1/2 inches apart.

This is what the cookies should look like after you have 'formed' them and placed in the freezer

5. Bake until the cookies are light golden grown and the outer edges start to harden yet the centers are still soft and puffy, 15 to 18 minutes, rotating the baking sheets front to back and top to bottom halfway through the baking time. Cool the cookies on the sheets. Remove the cooled cookies from the baking sheets with a side metal spatula.

These are friends that I make eat my cookies.

2 thoughts on “The Perfect Chocolate Chip Cookie

  1. Have I never told you the secret to great chocolate chip cookies? You have to use 1/2 butter and1/2 shortening. That is what gives the crisp outside and chewy middle. However, I am pretty excited to try your recipe.

Leave a Reply

