Official

20121130-154233.jpg

Officially irritated. I bought a used bike last weekend. Bikes rule in Holland.  I didn’t understand the hype until Wednesday. I hopped on my bike and rode to Vondelpark, cruised the city in seconds, and dared to one hand it for 10 seconds. Biking makes sense in Amsterdam. There are more bike paths than sidewalks. And while the tram system exists, the city is small enough that bikes are quicker and more efficient.

This morning I skipped outside to find my busted bike lock lying on the ground…sans bike. Everyone says bike theft is inevitable. Like a right of passage. Call me stupid but I hoped she would have lasted more than 4 days on the streets.

Luckily, the sun made an appearance long enough to walk the streets and drown my sorrows in coffee.

How sad that I took a picture

How sad that I took a picture

_DSC1661

_DSC1675_DSC1658

What would you do?

What would you do?

_DSC1663

_DSC1673

_DSC1666

_DSC1668

 

7 thoughts on “Official

  1. UUUUUUGGHHHHH!!!!! Curse the bike thieves!!! Sad to hear someone dampered your awesome bike beginning. You’re pictures sure are rockin though! (You’re crappy bike still looked cool, well played)

  2. Haha…did you you purchase that book? I’m so sorry your cute bike was stollen. Does this mean you have the right to steal your next bike?

  3. That is so sad! I had a bike stolen in Boston and it broke my heart. Especially cuz I was super broke and without a car. Mine was hot pink and purple though…a real target.

Leave a Reply

