Tex-Mex loosely interpreted

Saturday we were invited to a birthday party. The cafe had a typical list of Dutch bar snacks (bitterballan, fried cheese sticks, mixed nuts, cheese, sausage, nachos). We’ve ordered everything but nachos at other establishments. Honestly, I was skeptical of the Dutch interpretation of Mexican food. But nachos are featured at many bars so I thought “maybe they figured out how to do one Mexican dish right?” The menu listed cold and hot nachos both served with guacamole. We opted for cold. Five minutes later the waiter delivered a large bowl of nacho cheese Doritos and a side of guacamole. Luckily, I love me some Doritos. No but seriously!?! I quickly inventoried the response of our Dutch friends and no one was laughing. In fact the Dorito bowl was a big hit and quickly devoured (along with the pur√©ed guac). In all fairness, the menu did not specify the ‘nacho’ in Nachos.

Recent photos around Amsterdam

Near museumplein

Near museumplein

DVA_0493

Biking through Vondelpark

Biking through Vondelpark

DSC_0016

East docks of Amsterdam

East docks of Amsterdam

Saloon boat cruising the canals

Saloon boat cruising the canals

Watching our bikes in Dam Square while I take photos

Watching our bikes in Dam Square while I take photos

Traveling IAmsterdam sign in Dam Square

Traveling IAmsterdam sign in Dam Square

One thought on “Tex-Mex loosely interpreted

  1. hehe, that’s funny! I’ll have to remember that. I don’t think Shane would have been so forgiving nor so trusting I suppose. I love Doritos though!

Leave a Reply

