Making things personal

In a matter of weeks I have managed to make two grown men cry while I conduct their interviews. Unlike American anti discrimination laws you are allowed (and encouraged) to ask rather delicate questions in The Netherlands like age and relationship status. Most candidates I speak with are not from Holland and would need to relocate to Amsterdam (hence the personal questions). So while I cheerfully inquire about girlfriends they may bring or family they leave behind, I am suddenly faced with teary eyes and break up stories.

I have two possible conclusions:

1. I have a trustworthy demeanor that encourages people to open up

Or

2. European men are criers

2 thoughts on “Making things personal

Leave a Reply

